Texico named top team in Panhandle

CNJ staff

Notoriety of Texico’s back-to-back state football championships has transcended the borders of New Mexico.

The Wolverines received the Super Team Award while coach Mike Prokop was named football coach of the year at the Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame banquet Sunday in Amarillo.

The Wolverines won their second straight Class A state championship in November and go into next season with a 24-game winning streak.

“This is very humbling, especially since we’re really not from Texas,” Prokop told the Amarillo Globe News. “Over in our side of the state, we don’t have anything like this. This is a very unique honor. It was amazing to be up there on that stage and to hear all those stories. There was a lot of greatness up there.”

According to David Jones, chairman of the selection committee, the Wolverines beat out Texas state runner-ups Valley (six-man) and Stratford (1A) for the honor.

“It was very tough,” Jones said of the voting process.
Jones said it’s common for the Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame to honor coaches or teams outside the Texas borders. Teams and individuals from Oklahoma and Kansas have been honored in the past few years.

“We consider Texico part of our region,” Jones said.
According to Jones, the last New Mexico honoree was Rick McKay and current Clovis girls basketball coach Miles Watters for their work with the Clayton track team back in the early 1990s.