CCC board seats open

By Marlena Hartz: CNJ staff writer

Two Clovis Community College Board of Trustees seats are up for grabs.

An election to fill District 1 and District 4 positions will be held in March, according to a resolution passed Wednesday by CCC Trustees.

Trustees serve six-year terms, according to the resolution.

The seats are held by Trustees Gayla Brumfield, who represents District 1, and Robert Lydick, who represents District 4.

Brumfield, who was elected to the board in 2005 after a member resigned, said she will run for re-election.

“I really enjoy serving as a trustee. The college is very special to me,” said Brumfield, who earned a degree in real estate from the college.

Lydick could not be reached for comment.

Trustees wield much power at the college.

“Ultimately,” CCC President John Neibling said, “the board has the final authority in the operation of the college.”

Trustees delegate many college functions to administrators, but operational actions — setting budgets, choosing medical insurance for employees, adding online courses — must be approved by trustees, according to Neibling.

In turn, they are accountable to the public and must abide by state laws, he said.

CCC districts mirror Clovis Municipal Schools’. Five trustees represent five districts.

Residents who wish to run in the election of District 1 and 4 trustees must live in those districts and be registered New Mexico voters, according to the resolution.

CCC offers instruction at the associate’s degree level. Enrollment at the college generally hovers around 4,000, with a service area that radiates roughly 40,000 square miles around the college, according to college officials. Nine New Mexico counties and four Texas counties are included in that area, according to officials.

At a glance
Clovis Community College Board of Trustees election for District 1 and District 4 seats
When: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m, March 6
Where: Check precincts and polling places

More information
Want to be a trustee? You must:

—Be a resident and registered voter of CCC District 1 or District 4 to run.
—File a declaration of intent to run in the Curry County Clerk’s office between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., Jan. 17.
—File a declaration to be a write-in candidate before 5 p.m., Jan. 30

Precincts and polling places
District 1

Includes precincts 18, 22, 23, 24, 27 and those portions of general election precincts 19, 26 and 33 lying within CCC District 1
Polling place: Zia Elementary School, 2400 North Norris St.

District 4
Includes precincts 12, 13, 15, 17, and 37 and those general election precincts 2, 3, 10, 16, and 35 within CCC District 4
Polling place: Mesa Elementary, 4801 North Norris St.

Absentee voting will be held from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Feb. 9 through March 2, at the Curry County Clerk’s office, 700 N. Main St., Suite 7