Cannon’s finest take awards at 27 FW Annual Awards Ceremony

2nd Lt. George Tobias

“2006 was a monumental year for the men and women of the 27th Fighter Wing,” Capt. Rebecca Garcia, 27th FW Public Affairs chief told the audience at the 2007 Annual Awards Banquet.
The ceremony, held at The Landing, paid tribute to men and women, both Airmen and civilians, for outstanding leadership and service—those who Col. Scott West, 27th FW commander said “exemplify the best in service.”
The evening was a night of surprises, but perhaps one of the most humorous and touching moments of the banquet was when Senior Master Sgt. Patrick Fry, 27th Services Squadron, currently deployed, was announced as the Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year award winner. Sergeant Fry’s wife, Michelle, accepted the award on his behalf with a cardboard representation of him, while Colonel West took the opportunity to call Sergeant Fry on a cell phone to personally congratulate him for his achievement.
The awards banquet ended with one NCO becoming a double annual award winner. Tech. Sgt. Andrea Lee, 27th Aeromedical Dental Squadron was not only awarded the Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year award for the 27th FW, but it was also announced that same week that Sergeant Lee had won the 2006 Air Force Brigadier General Sarah P. Wells Outstanding Medical Services NCO of the Year. This award is given for demonstrating exceptional performance and professionalism while working in the health care field.
Other winners were:
Airman of the Year
Senior Airman John Castle, 524th Fighter Squadron
Company Grade Officer of the Year
Capt. William Kostan, 27th Operations Support Squadron
Ceremonial Guardsman of the Year
Staff Sgt. Brad Huthsteiner, 523rd Aircraft Maintenance Unit
First Sergeant of the Year
Master Sgt. George Childers, 27th Equipment Maintenance Squadron
Category I Civilian of the Year
Mr. Thomas Pacholke, 27th Medical Support Squadron
Category II Civilian of the Year
Mr. Gary Rhode, 27 Security Forces Squadron
Civilian Volunteer of the Year
Ms. Susan Howard, 27th Civil Engineer Squadron
Military Volunteer of the Year
Master Sgt. Robert Pinder, 27th CES
Squadron of the Year
524th Fighter Squadron, accepted by Lt. Col. Gary Walker, 524 FS commander
Fighter Wing Staff Agency of the Year
27th Fighter Wing Plans and Programs accepted by Lt. Col. Beachel Curtis, Wing Plans chief.