Four vying to be next mayor of Clovis

By Sarah Meyer: CNJ city editor

Four people have declared their intention to run for mayor of Clovis in the March 4 election.

Mayor David Lansford has held the position for 12 years. In November, he announced he would not run again for personal reasons.
Those who have declared their intention to run for mayor include:

Curry County Commissioner Tim Ashley. He has served as county commission chairman and said that if elected, he will promote a better working relationship between the city and county. He owns Clovis Concrete.

Clovis Realtor Gayla Brumfield. She has served on the Clovis Community College Board of Regents and the Plains Regional Medical Center Board of Directors. Brumfield, who owns Coldwell Banker Colonial Real Estate, said she plans to run on a five-point platform related to community improvement.

Former city commissioner Gloria Wicker. She said her prior experience qualifies her for the position. If elected, she hopes to clean up the entrances to the city and restore Hotel Clovis.

Rube Render, is a retired Marine who has held high-tech defense contracts for the Air Force. He said his military background will help the city as Cannon Air Force Base moves forward with its new mission.

New Mexico municipal elections
When: March 4
Candidate filing date: Tuesday
Voter registration deadline: Feb. 5
Early and absentee voting: Feb. 5-Feb. 28
Election: March 4

Position: Mayor
Incumbent: David Lansford
Positions: City Commission districts 1, 2, 3, 4
Incumbents: Randy Crowder, Fred Van Soelen (plans to run for re-election), Robert Sandoval, Lunell Winton (does not plan to run for re-election)
Question: Should alcohol be served in
restaurants on Sundays? (wording on the ballot may differ).

Positions: City Council wards A, B, C, D
Incumbents: Alfredo Bachicha, Gary Watkins, Donald K. Shafer, Michael G. Miller

Positions: Village Council, four-year terms
Incumbents: Tuck Monk and Michael Jacobs
Position: Village Council, two-year-term
Incumbent: Darrel Bostwick

Fort Sumner
Position: Municipal judge
Incumbent: Martha Sena
Positions: City council
Incumbents: Esther Segura and
Celestino Lovato

Positions: Village council
Incumbents: Doug Scioli and Jerry Bradley

Texas municipal elections
When: May 10
Candidate filing dates: Feb. 9-March 4.
Candidates deadline: March 10.
Early and absentee voting: April 28-May 6.

Positions: City Council, three at-large alderman positions
Incumbents: Yselta Kittrell, Wayne Gruben and Johnny Vidurri.
Positions: City Commission, District 3, District 4
Incumbents: Earl Behrend, Sharon Grant.
Term: 3 years

Election timeline
Declaration of candidacy and voting for county offices will follow the same schedule as for state offices. County candidates will sign up with their county clerk, and state candidates will sign up with the Secretary of State.
State offices open for candidacy include U.S. Senate, to fill the seat now held by Pete Domenici, R-N.M., as well as all three U.S. Representative seats. Representatives Tom Udall, Heather Wilson and Steve Pearce have said they will run for the Senate seat.

Primary election
Jan. 28 — Governor issues primary election proclamation
Feb. 2 — Filing day for pre-primary convention designations
Feb. 15 — Last day for presidential nominating committee to meet
Feb. 22 — Deadline for challenging nominating petitions
March 11 — Filing day for primary election
March 16 — Last day to hold pre-primary convention
March 17 — Last filing day for president of the U.S.
March 18 — Filing day for legislative seats, district judge, magistrate judge, district attorney, Public Regulation Committee, Public Education Commission and all county offices
April 1 — Candidate withdrawal from primary election
May 6 — Absentee voting for primary election begins; voter registration for primary election closes at 5 p.m.
May 17 — Early in-person voting begins
May 31 — Early in-person voting ends
June 3 — Primary election, 7 a.m.-7 p.m.
June 9 — Voter registration re-opens

Inside: General election timeline, Page 7A
General election
June 4 — Filing date for independent candidates, including president
June 24 — Filing date for minor party candidates
Sept. 2 — Filing day for write-in candidates
Sept. 3 — Candidate withdrawal from general election
Oct. 7 — Last day to register to vote in general election; absentee voting begins
Oct. 18 — Early in-person voting begins
Nov. 1 — Early in-person voting ends
Nov. 4 — General election.

Source: New Mexico Secretary of State Web site:

— Compiled by Sarah Meyer and Dianna Heranandez, CNJ staff