Curry, Quay counties eligible for disaster relief

CNJ staff

WASHINGTON — Curry and Quay counties have been declared eligible for federal disaster assistance due to their proximity to a neighboring county in Texas, according to a press release from U.S. Sen. Jeff Bingaman.

Parts of Texas were declared disaster areas as a result of hail and high winds on Aug. 16, the release said.

Farmers and ranchers in Curry and Quay who suffered losses are now eligible to be considered for low interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency, which is part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.


• Curry County FSA, 918 Parkland Dr., 762-4769.

• Quay County FSA, 706 S First St., Tucumcari, 575-461-0793.