Bingaman: Eastern New Mexico counties eligible for disaster aid

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman today confirmed that the counties of Lea, Curry, Quay and Roosevelt have been declared eligible for disaster assistance due to their proximity to Texas counties, which were declared disaster areas due drought and other disasters that occurred earlier this year.

As a result of the declaration, farmers and ranchers in Lea, Curry, Quay and Roosevelt counties are now eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency, which is part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).

“I am pleased the USDA is lending a helping hand to the farmers and ranchers in Lea, Curry, Quay and Roosevelt Counties who have been economically affected due to severe weather in the area this year,” Bingaman said.

For more information or to determine eligibility for a low interest loan contact the local USDA Farm Service Center

Lea County Farm Service Agency

401 E Tatum Highway

Lovington, NM 88260

(575) 396-5857

(575) 396-5768 Fax