Counties placed on fire restriction

Freedom New Mexico

Curry, Roosevelt and Quay counties are among 29 in New Mexico placed on restriction Friday limiting fireworks, smoking, campfire and open fires due to dangerous fire conditions.

The restrictions will go into effect 8 a.m. today and remain in effect until further notice.

Smoking is only allowed only in enclosed buildings, developed recreation areas, within structures, vehicles equipped with ashtrays on paved or surfaced roads and in areas at least 3 feet in diameter that are barren or cleared of all flammable material.

Fireworks are prohibited in all state and private wildlands outside of city or federal jurisdictions. Campfires are banned in all open areas, unless cooking or heating devices use kerosene, white gas or propane as a fuel in an improved camping area cleared of all flammable vegetation for at least 30 feet or has a water source.

Open fires are restricted, with an exception for open burning on croplands that are irrigated. Persons conducting burns must notify the local fire department, monitor the burn at all times, secure the burn at the end of the day, and follow state air quality rules and local ordinances.

Information: 505-476-3325.