Hounds land Cannon on All-LSC first team

CNJ staff

RICHARDSON, Texas — Senior punter Taylor Cannon was Eastern New Mexico University’s lone representative on the All-Lone Star Conference first team in football. Selections were released on Thursday by the conference office.

Senior wide receiver Darian Dale, the school’s career leader in catches and receiving yards, was named to the second team. Sophomore safety/return specialist Jayson Serda was chosen honorable mention for both, while ENMU (2-9, 1-7 LSC) also had eight other honorable mention selections.

Cannon was a first-team All-South Division choice in 2010 and an honorable mention selection in 2008. He led the LSC with a 42.9-yard average on 38 punts and had eight of 50 or longer, including two punts of 58 yards and one of 52 against Abilene Christian.

Dale, honorable mention All-South in 2008, finished fifth in NCAA Division II and first in the LSC this season with 7.6 receptions per game, and ranked 58th nationally with nearly 73 yards per game receiving. He had 10 or more catches three times in 2011, capped by 10 receptions for a season-best 116 yards in Saturday’s season-ending 23-10 loss to Texas A&M-Kingsville at Blackwater Draw.

Other ENMU honorable mention picks included junior quarterback Wes Wood, senior offensive tackles Mark Pena and Adam Robinson, junior kick returner Arvin Jackson, junior defensive tackle Ian Ogando, junior outside linebacker Joey Mendez, junior cornerback Nick Jones and sophomore deep snapper Daniel Allen.

Wood, in his second season as the starting QB, has already set ENMU career records for completions (673), pass attempts (1,081), passing yards (6,516) and total offense (7,184). He also broke the school single-season mark for completion percentage (64.9).

League champion Midwestern State had nine players chosen to the first team, 11 to the second team and eight more to honorable mention. The Mustangs also won five individual awards, including the offensive player of the year in quarterback Brandon Kelsey and the coach of the year in Bill Maskill.