Six local contested races in Tuesday election

Staff report

Primary elections for Republicans and Democrats are Tuesday in Clovis and Curry County.

There are six local contested races — The Curry County Commission District 1 seat on the Democrat ballot; the District 64 State Representative, Curry County Commission District 3, Curry County Sheriff, Curry County Assessor, and Curry County Probate Judge offices on the Republican ballot.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Registered voters who have declared their party preference may cast a ballot at any one of these convenience centers:

• Clovis Community College, 417 Schepps Blvd.

• Farmers Electric, 3701 N. Thornton

• Roy Walker Center, 316 W. Second St.

• Wheatfield Senior Living Community, 4701 N. Prince St.

• Grady Senior Citizens Center, 104 W. Main in Grady

• Melrose City Hall, 105 E. Ave. B in Melrose

• Texico Community Building, 215 N. Griffin in Texico

Voters in rural precincts may vote at their assigned polling location or at a voting convenience center by provisional ballot. The rural precincts are:
• Precinct 2: Pleasant Hill Fire Department, 304 SR 77 in Texico
• Precinct 3: Ranchvale Elementary School, 1606 SR 311 in Clovis

Information on candidates:

Primary election
June 3

Republican Party
U.S. Senator
• Allen E. Weh
• David Kale Clements

U.S. Representative
District 2
• Steve Pearce

District 3
• Jefferson L. Byrd

• Susana Martinez

Lieutenant Governor
• John A. Sanchez

Secretary of State
• Dianna J. Duran

State Auditor
• Robert J. Aragon

State Treasurer
• Rick J. Lopez

Attorney General
• Susan M. Reidel

Commissioner of Public Lands
• Aubrey Dunn

Public Regulation Commission
District 2
• Patrick Lyons

State Representative
District 64
• Randal S. Crowder
• Wade J. Lopez

District 67
• Dennis J. Roch

9th Judicial District Attorney
• Andrea Reeb

Magistrate Judge
Division 1
• Duane K. Castleberry

Division 2
• Richard Hollis Jr.

County Commissioner
District 3
• William G. Southard
• Chet Spear

County Assessor
• Candace R. Morrison
• Carl D. Patton

County Sheriff
• Rolf R. Jordi
• Wesley Waller
• Sam Elliston

Probate Judge
• Holly K. Glenn
• Joseph C. Champouillon (dropped out)
• Randy L. Rodriguez
• Mark E. Lansford

Democratic Party

U.S. Senator
• Tom Udall

U.S. Representative
District 2
• Leslie Endean-Singh
• Roxanne “Rocky” Lara

District 3
• Ben R. Lujan
• Robert Blanch

• Mario J. Martinez (write-in)
• Phillip George Chavez (write-in)
• Howie C. Morales
• Alan M. Webber
• Lawrence D. Rael
• Gary K. King
• Linda M. Lopez

Lieutenant Governor
• Marie Q. Julienne
• Debra A. Haaland

Secretary of State
• Maggie Toulouse Oliver

State Auditor
• TImothy M. Keller

State Treasurer
• Tim Eichenberg
• John Wertheim
• Patrick J. Padilla

Attorney General
• Hector Balderas

Commissioner of Public Lands
• Ray Bennett Powell

Judge of the Court of Appeals
• Kerry C. Kiernan

9th Judicial District Attorney
• Jennifer Burrill

State Representative

District 63
• George Dodge Jr.

Magistrate Judge

Division 1
• Terry Martin

County Commissioner

District 1
• Angelina Baca
• Edwin H. Perales

Probate Judge
• Charles Benny Adams