School board election ballot

Today is school board election day.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. in Clovis and the rest of Curry County.

• Clovis voters within the city limits, regardless of district, can cast votes at either the Colonial Park Golf Course Clubhouse, the Roy Walker Recreation Center, Trinity United Methodist Church or the Youth Recreation Building.

• Clovis voters outside of the city limits can vote at either Ranchvale Elementary School or one of the four city locations by provisional ballot.

• In Grady, voting will take place at the Grady Senior Citizens Center.

• In Melrose, voting will take place at Melrose Village Hall.

• In Texico, voting will be at the Texico Community Building.

There are 23,809 registered voters in the county.

The following are candidates registered for Tuesday’s Curry County school board elections and a bond issue question in Grady:

District 3
Paul Cordova

District 4
Jennifer Burrill
Justin Howalt

District 5
Terry Martin
Jose Griego

Position 1
Allen Wade-Edwards
Leona Powell

Position 2
James Schell

Position 3
Jack Driever
Gerald Garland
Jerome Joseph Provencio

Grady Ballot Question:
Shall the Board of Education of the Grady Municipal School District No. 61, Counties of Curry and Quay, State of New Mexico, Be authorized to issue general obligation bonds of the District, in one series or more, in the aggregate principal amount not exceeding $500,000, for the purpose of: erecting, remodeling, making additions to and furnishing school buildings, purchasing or improving school grounds, purchasing computer software and hardware for student use in public schools, providing matching funds for capital outlay projects funding pursuant to the Public School Capital Outlay Act; or any combination of these properties, said bonds to be payable from general (ad valorem) taxes and to be issued and sold at such time or times upon such terms and conditions as the Board may determine.


Position 1
Barry Allen

Position 2
Joseph Reed

Position 3
Neal Delk

Position 1
Cary Crist

Position 2
Clifford Clay Franklin
Chad Davis

Position 3
Craig Rohrback